A New Venture. The Market Stall

Hey there fellow Bloggers, Friends and Googlers!

Last weekend I gave the ole’ Market Stall a go. I would love to say it was highly successful, heaps of sales! But no. I was the newbie, among the veterans of Stallholders who gawked and laughed at my sad attempt. Don’t get me wrong, I got plenty of great comments “Ohh you have some lovely stuff here!”, “Wow, your so creative!” and yet, I walked away with (I assume) a few pitty sales.

Unfortunately, I didn’t take a picture of my display, however I can describe it to you. Bland. A black sheet background, nothing hanging, everything on a single table. Since that horrible day, I have done HEAPS of research!!!

Here’s what I have to correct..

1. People don’t go to small town markets to spend big $$

– Your better off selling cheaper items. Market goers know there won’t be any ATM’s, so they may only bring $20-$100 cash. Expect that you’ll only make a small profit on everything you make. For the first few months, you may not even make anything ontop of the cost for materials, with all the haggling and bartering! But also a good idea to get your name out there!

2. Don’t look Desperate

– Market goers are intimidated when you desperately ask them to take a business card, or tell them the markets they can find you at next week!

3. Colours

– Bright, vibrant colours will draw in the kids! I have alot of Craft for Children but I went for the ‘Simple, Calico and Wooden Box’ Style Stalls. I had one child come over and have a look (because her mum dragged her over).

4. Stock

– Have plenty of stock. The more you have, the more interested people are. If you only have a few items, people are more willing to have a quick look as they pass by, The more you have, the more they have to hunt around to see everything on display.

And Last but not Least…

5. Weather

I live in Queensland, Australia. It get’s hot. BE PREPARED! I was lucky enough to have a lovely lady next to me who looked after my stall so I could dash quickly to get a Frozen Slushie… But I’ve learnt my lesson! I’m buying an esky and stocking up on Ice and Cool Drinks!!

So this is all the info I have for now. Round 2 is this Sunday, This time I’ll take a picture of the ‘new’ display and hopefully be able to present you with some better news!!!

Leave a comment