Project #6!!! Play TeePee

Project #6!!! Play TeePee

My Aunty was coming to visit and she has 3 lovely boys aged 4, 6 and 8!
After having a chat about my blog and what I’ve been up to, she joking said that the boys would LOVE a TeePee but they are WAY to expensive.
This lead me to thinking, if I was to make one, what would I use and how much would I spend?
I started doing a bit of research and found that there are quite a few ways to make TeePee’s.

http://mypoppet.com.au/2012/03/how-to-diy-tee-pee-tent-part-1.html

I found this Blog that was (finally) in Australian measurements and had a run down of the Auzzie costs of her TeePee. Than I realised, my Aunty lives in Ipswich, so they will have to take the TeePee in the car with them. Was wood poles really a good option?
I kept looking around and found THIS Blog

http://www.themudpiemakers.com/2011/09/make-your-own-play-teepee.html

Fantastic Tutorial and used PVC pipes!!! After a trip to Bunnings, I priced some pipes and joiners and I was looking at around about $50 just for the PVC…
As I was looking for something inexpensive but effective I made my way to the Mitre 10 trade centre to source something a bit cheaper.

I found 2 pipes that already had a joint bit at the end to fit 2 pipes together and had them cut into 10x 1 metre lengths. 2 of which had the joint and so I had to by 3 separate joints, so I end up with 5x 2 metre poles that could be taken apart for storage and travel.
All up the PVC costs me $22! Bargain!

As for the material, I went to the local St Vinnies and found a HUGE length of blue, thick material for $5 and a white sheet for $2 and cut them into Triangles 1 Metre down the bottom and 50 cm (Middle of the metre) up the top, Than measured down about 180cm. I cut the top of the triangle down 10cm so I could have the gap up the top.
I didn’t really overdo the measuring as this was a trial run. But it turned out alright!

After a FULL day of sewing, I managed to finish this little project and they kids saw it on the weekend, they LOVED IT! It was set up back at theirs within 20 mins of being home haha.

This is a Picture of the back. I had so much fun putting this little project together and It really wasn’t that hard! Anyone can make one! Give it a go, maybe check out the Tutorials I’ve linked here and see for yourself what a fantastic gift for your kids it is!!!

Image

Leave a comment